800.813.9069
Available 24 Hours a Day/7 Days a Week

Sexual Abuse

Sexual Abuse Lawyer in New York City, NY

Sex crime charges are serious. We can help.

No one expects to find themselves in trouble with the law, but when you do, it is important to have an attorney by your side who gets it. Not only can sex crime charges leave you susceptible to jail time and costly fines, but a single accusation could be enough to tarnish your reputation.

For this reason, it is imperative that you retain the help of a New York City criminal defense lawyer from the Law Offices of Daniel A. Hochheiser as soon as you have been arrested—as taking action quickly is crucial to the success of your case. Fortunately, our firm is well-equipped to defend you against any of the following sexual abuse charges.

Sexual Abuse in the 1st Degree

According to New York Penal Code §130.65, one would be guilty of sexual abuse in the first degree if they have engaged in sexual conduct with another person a) by forcible compulsion, b) when the other personal is incapable of consent due to physical helplessness or c) when the other person is younger than eleven. If convicted of this offense, you would face penalties for a class D felony—which may include between 2 to 7 years in prison.

Sexual Abuse in the 2nd Degree

According to New York Penal Code §130.60, one would be guilty of sexual abuse in the second degree if they have engaged in sexual conduct with another person who is a) incapable of consent by reason of some factor other than being less than seventeen years old or b) younger than fourteen. If convicted of this offense, you would face penalties for a class A misdemeanor—which may include up to 1 year in jail and a $1,000 fine.

Sexual Abuse in the 3rd Degree

According to New York Penal Code §130.55, one would be guilty of sexual abuse in the third degree if they have engaged in sexual conduct with another person without their consent; however, it would be an affirmative defense that the lack of consent stemmed solely from the victim being less than seventeen years old—as long as they were older than fourteen and the defendant was less than five years older. This is a class B misdemeanor, which is punishable by up to 3 months in jail.

Aggravated Sexual Abuse in the 1st Degree

According to New York Penal Code §130.70, one would be guilty of aggravated sexual abuse in the first degree if they have

"insert[ed] a foreign object in the vagina, urethra, penis or rectum of another person causing physical injury to such person" a) by means of forcible compulsion, b) when the other person is physically helpless or c) when the other person is younger than eleven. This is a class B felony, which is punishable by 5 to 25 years in prison."

Your Initial Consultation is Free. We Represent Cases in Yonkers, New Rochelle, & White Plains.

If you are facing sexual abuse charges, you should not hesitate to enlist the help of an experienced criminal defense lawyer. When you turn to the legal team at the Law Offices of Daniel A. Hochheiser, you can secure valuable advice from a firm with more than six decades of experience. Your initial consultation won't cost you a thing when you contact our office today at (800) 813-9069, and we are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

Email Us Now

We want to help you!

Send Info

Client Testimonials

"I am very satisfied with the service I received."

"Daniel Hochheiser's firm proved to be helpful from the moment of first contact, through the process and to the end. Attentive to my case, professional to the end and very effective. He spear ..."

- John
Read More